Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Freeze resource units per time period

5 replies [Last post]
Jim Smith
User offline. Last seen 8 years 42 weeks ago. Offline

Hi folks,

I’m looking at the Auto cost rules on P3 v3.0.

I’m new to P3 and don’t really know what "Freeze resource units per time period" is about. I’m learning out of a book at the moment.

I understand that "when the box is checked the quantities and hours to complete go up as RD goes up and vice versa".

I also understand that "when the box is unchecked units per hour go up as RD goes down, while cost and quantity to complete remain unchanged".

I’ve looked at the resources and cost forms sections but can’t get the an intuitive answer as to what the above statements mean exactly by doing that. Can someone explain.

Regards,

Jim

Replies

Jim Smith
Hi Alex,

I now see what you mean: I understand.

Ignore my previous post it’s rubbish.

Many Thanks,

Jim.
Jim Smith
Hi Alex,

I don’t see how we get 8 engineer man days.

Regards,

Jim

Jim Smith

Thanks Alex. I have a few questions:

1. I have re-worded your example ( see below ) to test my understanding. Does what I have written make sense. I don’t see how we go from 4 to 8 man days in (b) below ?
2. Does the "Freeze resource units per time period" check box get checked / unchecked only at the beginning of a project or can this happen at the statusing stage ? Are you indicating that this can happen at the statusing stage above after 8 days into this 10 day activity ?