Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Estimating Structural &Piping Work Manhours

12 replies [Last post]
Mohd Najib Ramlan
User offline. Last seen 6 years 44 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi..

I'm a fresh graduate planner..and im still learning about planning and scheduling for offshore hook-up and commissioning projects.

I would like to ask about

1. Estimating manhours for structural work such as fabricating, and installing platform deck or pipe support. What basis should I use for the estimation? Is there any books or references for referring the norm?

2. Estimating manhours for piping work such as fabricating, installing and tie-in. What reference should I use to estimate the manhours.

I appreciate to all that can give me a lessons about my humble questions. Thank you very much.

Replies

dendy efendi
User offline. Last seen 7 years 50 weeks ago. Offline

to estimate man hour piping you need more time experience , need investagation to gain some information from welding man power supply subcontractor. Because experience completeing piping fabrication time difference each place and condition.

Rashid Iqbal
User offline. Last seen 2 years 12 weeks ago. Offline

Mohd Najib,

Everyone was 'new' someday and so don't worry thinking that your questions are silly. I will try to guide you a bit.

1. Schedule baseline will be loaded for the budgeted hrs (hrs included in the estimate)

2. Open the estiamte and you will see piping take off; it will show you the ISO's and the budgeted hrs.