Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Advice on planning/power etc

3 replies [Last post]
A Hill
User offline. Last seen 17 years 51 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi guys,

Newbie but was recommended this website by another member and am hoping for some decent advice.

I’m not a planning engineer but am very interested in the sector. I took a BSc in Physics and did 2 years in semiconductor process engineering. I then did materials R&D for 2 years where I did some project planning for prototype work, mainly low level MSProject. I enjoyed the PM more than the science at any rate.

I’ve now finished 2 years Operations/Maintenance training in nuclear sector. I have an Operations gig lined up (control room, SAP, DAP progression route) but have a possible chance at Planning. I just wonder if anyone could comment on the longevity of planning and its opportunities vs Operations.....

Is Planning all about fighting with software because I enjoy the interaction with crews, contractors etc.

Sorry for the Jackanory, hope you can help.

Cheers
Hils

Replies

James Griffiths
User offline. Last seen 15 years 31 weeks ago. Offline
Hi, y’all.

Good general advice from all concerned.