Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Career Advice needed

3 replies [Last post]
Mark McErlean
User offline. Last seen 9 years 3 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hi,

I am a planning engineer for a small-medium size contractor in England. I started as a "Junior Planner" a year ago which I thought involved having guidance from a Planner or someone more senior than me. However when joined I was the only one in the department which was a bit of a surprise considering this was my first job out of uni.

I work in various departments within the company and only spend 50-60% of the time creating tender/construction/finishing programme’s at best with little to no assistance/guidance. I have never been on site to see any work actually being carried out or even should how to read schedules/drawings etc. I have pretty much thought myself how to use ASTA which I am pretty adept at by this stage. We mainly use the plans to ascertain the project duration at tender stage & report progress. I occasionally use baseline for as-builts however I can use this feature and many others. We do not create resource & cost loaded programmes however I have created resource histogram's when I find the time for tender interviews.