Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

WBS

5 replies [Last post]
Andy Cadman
User offline. Last seen 18 years 14 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Just wondered if somebody could help me. I am new to planning in the M&E/Rail industry and my company has a contract to install/supply site facilities in a new build control centre. How should I go about building the WBS? Should it be based upon the following:
Control Room
Equipment Room
Plant Room
Offices
Gatehouse
Etc
To do this, I figure that I would also need top-level elements such as Inspection & Testing, Commissioning etc

Or, should it be based upon what has to be done in terms of work? i.e.:
Electrical Installation
Mechanical Installation
Plumbing Installation
Testing & Commissioning

One of the project Managers has already pointed out that the first option does not naturally fall into the way the job will be done. For example, when the ductwork for the ventilation system is installed, it will be done throughout the whole building and not on a room by room basis. I have pointed out however, that the WBS does not segregate the work but helps to identify the scope of work to be done and the sequence of the activities will be in terms of the individual predecessors/successors. He doesn’t seem to accept this but I don’t think he is very experienced with planning anyway.