Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Productivity and Resource assignment..

2 replies [Last post]
Thomas Chua
User offline. Last seen 14 years 16 weeks ago. Offline
i am rather new to ms project. have a few questions here. when i hv created the wbs, i give them a period each. then i assign the resources to them. when, for a specific task, i assign more resources, the time changed, it reduced. Nothing wrong with that as more resources means less time. however, each activities r of different productivity. and the time that i hv entered is based on the no. of people for that job and the amount of time required by that amount of people.

Say welding a section of plate, i put 2 welders and total required time is say 2 hours. what should i do then? i can’t seem to find a place to input productivity for each activity in MSP. please advise, thanks.

Replies

Bo Johnsen
User offline. Last seen 8 years 24 weeks ago. Offline
Well, MS Project does work with productivities to a certain degree, but you have to do a bit of customized fields before it works in a simple way, so admitted it is maybe not as clever carried out as in SpiderProject (not that I know it) and in other planning software that have this features.