Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Planning

8 replies [Last post]
rrroman Canadian
User offline. Last seen 15 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Dear Planners,

My name is Catalin. I have a Bachelor in Mec.Eng, a PMP certification and a MBA (operations). I took P6 (102 and 106) courses and my experience is CAD design (automotive) (no planning)..but I do like planning. Do I have any chance to get into the planning field or am I dreaming..? Is a certification like PSP (AACE) going to help?
Thank you for your time and consideration

Best regards.

Catalin

Replies

Ferdinand Fincale...
User offline. Last seen 8 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Hi Catalin,

With your PMP and MBA certification, you’ll for sure get to the top quickly. Just try to dig the inner essence of planning, and be patient with the tedious details that you’ll go through. Seek and ask to understand. Planning is indeed a great part of every successful project.

In this computing age, there’s a lot of planning softwares that you can use depending on your requirement. For me, those softwares are simply programs as a tool to make our planning presentations and analysis quicker with flexibility in its future utilization. Therefore, I say that planning is indeed more on analytical aspects and its application because after all we can still do planning manually. Hope you get what I am trying to emphasize.

Good luck to you and hope that you’ll share with us your future planning knowledge and experiences.