Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Embarking On A Planning Career!

4 replies [Last post]
Iweka Otigbah
User offline. Last seen 12 years 18 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hello folks, this is my first post here.
I am a graduate Automotive Designer with a Masters Degree in Engineering and Project Management. I wish to try a planning career.
The reason being that i gave up a promising military career to go into further education in pursuit of an automotive design degree, which I attained. I took another year to get a masters degree in engineering/Project Management. After all this, I been unable to gain any meaningfull employment in design. LACK OF EXPERIENCE seems to be the main response or reason for refusals. So here i am knocking on the planning career door.
With regards to planning experience, all I have is academic experience. I am sure i do have some transferable skills.
How do I break into planning (as a junior planner i would imagine)???
Any comments most welcome..!
Sorry for the long post!!

Iweka.

Replies

Iweka Otigbah
Hello Ken,

That’s just the sort of break I am hoping for.
Putting out resumes almost took over my life - something of a fulltime job plus overtime!
Haven taken a spell away from applying, I have since resumed my efforts in the direction of planning.
Thanks for the encouraging post.

Best Regards

Iweka.
Ken Barrett
User offline. Last seen 13 years 12 weeks ago. Offline
Hello Iweka,