Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Planning in the IT sector

1 reply [Last post]
John Smitt
User offline. Last seen 18 years 1 week ago. Offline
I’m a qualified IT engineer and have been for some time, have all the qualifications you can get but wanted a change from hardcore technical.

My aim is to work on projects and at sometime become a project manager. I feel planning is a good route and have recently done a planning course. I have also recently got a job as a planner which i am happy with and i intennd to do for some time.
The job is not in the desired sector (not IT).

MY question; what do you need in terms of planning skills, planning software, project methods (prince 2) would help me get a job as an IT planner.

Also most of the agents deal with construction and rail etc.. and IT agents don’t do a lot in IT planning, who does?

Replies

Chris Oggham
User offline. Last seen 9 years 43 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
John,

The organisation I work for uses PRINCE2 as its Project Management Methodology. The vast majority of our projects are IT projects, but PRINCE2 is equally applicable to non-IT projects. Since you have secured a planning job that you are happy with, use the time to build up experience in planning and scheduling before deciding to make the transition to project manager.

As for PRINCE2, there are two stages of qualification.