Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Trying to break into Construction Management

5 replies [Last post]
Christine Miller
User offline. Last seen 19 years 42 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hello, all!

I am relatively new to the planning community, and I find myself in the difficult position of working as a planner for an engineering/construction directorate with no background in those topics. The manager who hired me told me that having an engineering background wasn’t necessary, but it would sure help to have a clue as to what these folks are talking about...as if it weren’t bad enough that I don’t have the answers, I don’t even know the questions, LOL!

My undergraduate work was in Medical Laboratory Technology and Biological Sciences. Two years ago, I completed my Master’s in Management and achieved PMP certification through PMI. I’ve been working in PM for almost 8 years.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to good sources of information about construction/engineering management?

Thanks much!
Christine

Replies

Christine Miller
Thanks, Gary, for your help. I may very well take you up on your kind offer for e-mentoring!

I have just received copies of Project Scheduling and Management for Construction, Revised 3rd Edition, by David R. Pierce, Jr., and Fundamentals of the Construction Process by Kweku K. Bentil, AIC. That will get me started, anyway, but I’ll definitely look into your text recommendation as well.

Looking forward to speaking with you again-

Regards,
Christine