Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Question?????

9 replies [Last post]
Basel Al-Jazzar
User offline. Last seen 13 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi every body:

I am a fresh graduate (civil engineer). I would like to know what is the best time to work as a planner?

Some say that i have to work with contractor as a site engineer.

But i think that planning is a skill should be learned from the beginning.

Wjat do you think?

Replies

Forum Guest
User offline. Last seen 9 weeks 3 days ago. Offline
More to the point, there are some projects which will never go anywhere near a site !, but still require planning.

The ability to readily understand the process of how one achieves the "goal", whatever that is, is what you are really looking for. And that skill should be transportable to any industry.

Once you can achieve that, the tool used to enable others to understand is arbitary.

Guy Hindley
User offline. Last seen 5 years 28 weeks ago. Offline
To me Planning is a mindset/ process issue. You are looking for logic and order in the world. I totally agree with the comments in this thread that knowing how to use a toolset, does not make you a Planner. I have heard it suggested that only 20% of Planning is concerned with toolsets, the other 80% is with the real Planning. Before these computers came along we still had Planning!