Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Planning and Scheduling related problem

4 replies [Last post]
Punit Gupta
User offline. Last seen 11 years 29 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Dear Planners,

Greetings!!

I am new to Primavera, i did certification course for the same. I am facing this weird problem in the planning and scheduling that i am doing for a housing project. Following are the details and the related problem i am facing in Primavera p6...

Total Number of Blocks to be constructed: 10 Nos

Total Type of Blocks: Type A,B,C & D.

all blocks are stilt +4 Floors ( only difference being difference in area of each block)

How i scheduled is as follows:

Enterprise - Project SW   - Bock A (- Block A1 - Block A2 - Block A3)

- Block B (-Block B1 - Block B2 - Block B3)

- Block C (- BlockC1 - Block C2)

- Block D (- Block D1 - Block D2)

- Land Development.

Total Time to complete the project: 30  Months Starting date 01-03-2013

Maximum time to complete one block ( any type) = 12 months or less.

Since all the blocks are same except the area, what i did i Scheduled Block C1 first. I completed it in every aspect. It showed the activities that were critical and other too as per actual expectation.I had also marked each blocks starting and finishing milestone. Then i copied the same to other blocks ( since all are same), then the problem arose.After i scheduled  all the activities turned non critical even the Block C1 turned non critical.

Please enlighten!

Thankyou all

Replies