Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Longest path or Critical path of As built Schedule (Primavera)

3 replies [Last post]
Srichand Sobhani
User offline. Last seen 10 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Dear All,

I am new to PP blogs and require help from your expertise.

I have to report to my Managment some sort of Delay Analysis & Lesson Learned by comparing Baseline and As-built Schedule. I had joined the project in mid of its life, so I have collected reasons of delay from documents and from coleagues before me and recorded separately.

The big hurdle in my way is that the baseline schedule is so brief and different from the current schedule. Current schedule is much detailed and during the course of time I introduced many activities which were not known before but required to execute. Due to this reason I can not simply compare two schedules. Please help me to evaluate longest path of the completed (as built) schedule. My schedule is in P6 and I have used global change to de-progress it without scheduling it. But all bars are green in result and no critical or longest path is visible.

Please help.

Sri

Replies

Andrew Tan
User offline. Last seen 11 years 13 weeks ago. Offline

Hi Srichand,

What I may do in your case.

1. Create a new schedule from the as-built schedule.

2. Use the baseline schedule as guide, group the detailed activities as Level of Effort activities.

3. Add the baseline schedule activities and dates on top of these LOE activities.