Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Need help in preparing a schedule for a project plagued with problems

4 replies [Last post]
sunil danthuluri
User offline. Last seen 11 years 21 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

Hello Every one,

I am a planning engineer for 15.6 KM Road project which consists of 4 Tunnels and 3 Bridges. This project is being executed in a hilly terrain. This project started way back in 2006. This project is being plagued with problems. Around 2km of road is in land acquisition problems. Rest of the portion is completed. Recently one of the tunnel front portal collapsed since it's residing on man made debris. So we are waiting for an alternative design. I am actually trying to prepare a work program for this project. I am just not getting the idea about where to start. Do you want me to prepare a schedule with some said dates and change the dates once the problems get cleared. Please help me on this!!!!

Replies

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 21 weeks 6 days ago. Offline

Dear Lord

You are really asking for a full tutorial on the topic of delay analysis which I can offer if you go to the website

www.planningacademy.org

Meanwhile your points one by one.

1. This method you have outlined --- creation of delayed events and linking them to the tasks.  Are you mentioning this specifically for Asta Powerproject?  Or you figure this can be done in other software too (P6/P3/MSP).

Any software will do but Asta works best for me.