Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Level of Effort and Critical Path

8 replies [Last post]
Sebastian Rush
User offline. Last seen 7 years 40 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
Hi all! I have a master schedule with a number of LEO activities, but when I schedule by using longest path as critical, they do not "turn" red??? Can someone educate me a bit on this please.

Thanks.

Seb

Replies

Dean Mulligan
User offline. Last seen 5 years 35 weeks ago. Offline
Interesting David, I’ll try that now
David Podmore
User offline. Last seen 12 years 32 weeks ago. Offline
Just a last note; have you tried using a WBS Summary task? It mimics a WBS parent without being one AND can be on the Critical Path.
Dean Mulligan
Gordon .... thanks for the tip on P6, it’s been quite annoying for years that a rollup has to be done again and again ........
Dean Mulligan
Thanks guys, a colleague said I could drive the colour through coding. This is the best way forward for me now (even though I may have to revert to the WBS option - Plan B!!).

And I am trying to do it using the Activity ID but the filter changes ALL the LOE activity colours. How can I isolate just 1 activity? Also everytime I run the filter and then go back in ALL the settings go back to "all activities" ie it loses the settings I want and goes to default ..... why is that?
Alex Wong
User offline. Last seen 11 years 21 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: TILOS
Hi