Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Driving & non-driving resource in offshore HUC

5 replies [Last post]
Redzuan Samsudin
User offline. Last seen 13 years 50 weeks ago. Offline
Hi all

Im working in a Offshore Hook-Up & Commissioning company which primarily deals with oil platform projects in Malauysian water & its sorrounding region.

I’m quite new to P3 (Client request) as our previous preferred tool is MS Project.

1 concept which is new to me is driving & non-driving resources.

Q : Which resources (driving / non-driving) should I use for offshore HUC projects.

I’ve read the P3 Project & Control Guide but need further explanation.

Thanks a lot.

Cheers

Replies

John Lawson
User offline. Last seen 11 years 20 weeks ago. Offline
Hi,

I cann’t see what you will have to gain by using the Resources driving optiion in P3. As all your OD’s will be calculated from the imported manhours / mixed crew sizes.

Would you not be better to apply it to only any critical resources that you may have.

Regards

John
Redzuan Samsudin
User offline. Last seen 13 years 50 weeks ago. Offline
Good day to all

Thank you for all the response. I will explain my normal way of planning (which initially in MSP, I use almost the
same method).

PLEASE CORRECT/NOTIFY ME IF I’M WRONG.

My planning in hours as the jobcards is detailed by manhours.

For each resource in an activity, I will set the BQ & UPT.
(BQ = Total MHrs for that resource, UPT = Resource (e.g. 1 men/2 men Rigger) required for each hour).