Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

Digital Railway

1 reply [Last post]
Andrew McLean-Reid
User offline. Last seen 3 years 50 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None

I work as a Project Planner for Network Rail in London.

I work free-lance, as many planners do, and have worked across a number of industries including oil & gas, civils, water and telecoms. But for the past 15 years I have worked in Rail. Although I have held a number of different project controls roles I tend towards project planning, and as I have signalling experience I am generally offered those positions due to the lack of experienced signalling resource on the market.

The reason for this intro is to illustrate that although I work in an engineering/construction environment, it comes with some unique aspects. CPA is pretty redundant, for example, as what drives Rail delivery tends to be access availability, rather than a critical path in the traditional sense. Likewise signalling delivery projects are a fusion of engineering and data production, which presents its own set of challenges.

However we are at the dawn of a new technology which will inevitably become standard, which is digital railway. Many countries have embarked on this technology and the UK is one of them. In broad terms we are talking about control systems which are managed by computerised systems to provide greater levels of management and the potential for more centralised and efficient control.