Guild of Project Controls: Compendium | Roles | Assessment | Certifications | Membership

Tips on using this forum..

(1) Explain your problem, don't simply post "This isn't working". What were you doing when you faced the problem? What have you tried to resolve - did you look for a solution using "Search" ? Has it happened just once or several times?

(2) It's also good to get feedback when a solution is found, return to the original post to explain how it was resolved so that more people can also use the results.

help with setting resources (equipment)

8 replies [Last post]
red guy
User offline. Last seen 12 years 18 weeks ago. Offline
Groups: None
hello ppl
this may be a newbie question, but i cannot seem to solve it...

i am a video editor and i often endeavour in several connected tasks, so i am creating a project to do a proper estimation of times and costs and resource assignments.

i entered the human operators as a work resource, but i really need to enter computers as well and this is where my problems start.
i want to know mainly if their use is overallocated

there are certain tasks where they are useless if not operated by humans, tasks that do require human intervention.
there are other tasks where they can work on their own

they are equipment and i don’t know how to set them.
not as a work resource, because when they are driven by humans, assigning the computer and a human resource would split in half the task duration.
certainly not as materials, because their use is not measured in units, and because such a resource cannot be overallocated.

i hope i made myself clear

thank you very much

ps. i use microsoft project 2003

Replies

Mike Testro
User offline. Last seen 26 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Hello Everone